Tinubu Reshapes NNPCL Board, Kyari Continues as CEO

Tinubu Reshapes NNPCL Board, Kyari Continues as CEO

President Bola Tinubu has given the nod for the establishment of a new board and management team for the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL), effective December 1, 2023. This move, aligned with Section 59(2) of the Petroleum Industry Act, 2021, designates Chief Pius Akinyelure as the Non-Executive Board Chairman. Meanwhile, Mallam Mele Kolo Kyari retains his position as the Group Chief Executive Officer.

The newly appointed executives include Alhaji Umar Isa Ajiya as Chief Financial Officer, Mr. Ledum Mitee, Mr. Musa Tumsa, Mr. Ghali Muhammad, Prof. Mustapha Aliyu, Mr. David Ogbodo, and Ms. Eunice Thomas as Non-Executive Directors. In a statement issued on Monday by Ajuri Ngelale, Special Adviser to the President (Media & Publicity), it was revealed that President Tinubu has also sanctioned the appointment of two Permanent Secretaries—Mr. Okokon Ekanem Udo as Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance, and Amb. Gabriel Aduda as Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources.

The statement underscores President Tinubu’s expectation for full compliance with the performance-driven and results-oriented mandate of his Renewed Hope administration. The focus is on implementing an energy policy that capitalizes on existing oil and gas resources while concurrently laying the groundwork for the comprehensive exploitation of novel and environmentally friendly energy sources in the future. The President expressed confidence in the capabilities of this distinguished team to navigate these objectives effectively.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *